[Short Link: http://3rdstg.ca/621]

Stryper will be releasing a new album in Fall of 2010. The Covering, which will be released on Big 3 Records in the Fall. The release date has not been set, but according to Michael Sweet, they are aiming at a September release.

Based on Michael's Twitter feed, the album will feature covers such as:

Iron Maiden - "The Trooper"
Judas Priest - "Breaking The Law"
Scorpions - "Blackout"
Ozzy Osbourne - "Over The Mountain"
Sweet - "Set Me Free"
Van Halen  - "On Fire"
Deep Purple - "Highway Star"
Black Sabbath - "Heaven and Hell"
UFO - "Lights Out"
Kansas - "Carry On Wayward Son"
KISS - "Shout It Out Loud"
Led Zeppelin - "Immigrant Song"

Stryper will also include a new song called God.

In addition, Stryper is putting the song God up for auction. If you recall, Stryper auctioned off their single "Alive" in two auctions, in which the winners share in a percentage of the royalties of the song. In this case, they are auctioning a song that has not yet been released. To see the auction, go to SongVest.

Lot #1: The Platinum Edition - 2 Lots
12.5% of Michael Sweet’s Writer’s Share of the song’s royalties
Exclusive studio access to witness the final mastering of “God” to take place sometime between June 18 and June 21 (travel and accommodations paid for by purchaser)
Special Acknowledgement in the album credits
Personalized, one-of-kind platinum album award with handwritten lyrics and signed CD

Lot #2: The Gold Edition - 10 Lots
2.5% of Michael Sweet’s Writer’s Share of the song’s royalties
Gold single award signed by Michael